In and Around the HP EliteBook 8570w

The HP EliteBook 8570w carries over the design language HP introduced with their 8x60 refresh, and it's a very sound one. The old 8740w was, frankly, a pretty hideous tricolor mish-mash of different styles that didn't go together well. While I'd like to see HP refresh and refine this design a bit more, it definitely still has legs.

For this, one of HP's top-of-the-line enterprise notebooks, it starts with a gunmetal-colored aluminum lid with an illuminated HP logo when the system is powered on. There's a strip of plastic along the top for the antennas colored to match the rest of the lid, and then the hinges of the notebook are silver. It bears mentioning that HP reinforces the hinges of the notebook with a bar built into them, and the hinge itself is incredibly sturdy and not the least bit prone to wobbling.

Pressing the latch and opening the 8570w reveals a black matte plastic bezel for the display along with the gunmetal-colored brushed aluminum interior surface. The white LED backlit chiclet keyboard is the same color. It's my understanding the keyboard was a point of contention in my review of the M6700 (among other things), but I'm still adamant that this more standardized layout is much more ideal. The keys themselves are responsive with no flex, but HP's double-high left and right arrow keys, while aesthetically appealing, still feel odd. HP makes good use of the available real estate in the palm rest for a sizable touchpad with a smooth, very pleasing finish. Above and below it are the trio of dedicated mouse buttons, and in the center of the keyboard is the orange trackpoint nub.

The trim of the notebook is a single band of aluminum with the necessary ports cut out of it, while the bottom is matte plastic. HP continues to use the quick release panel here in the 8570w; slide the lever to the left and the large bottom panel pops off. It's secure but also convenient for servicing the notebook.

I continue to be bullish on HP's current enterprise notebook aesthetic. Much as Dell's current desktop workstation line very clearly has a lot of thought put into it regarding both usability and overall looks, the HP enterprise notebooks balance an attractive, professional style with comfort and ease of use. It's very easy to upgrade the internals of the 8570w, although you'll notice the cooling system isn't particularly robust. As you'll see, this is going to turn out to be the notebook's biggest weakness.

Introducing the HP EliteBook 8570w Application and Futuremark Performance
POST A COMMENT

54 Comments

View All Comments

  • CobaltFire - Tuesday, December 18, 2012 - link

    Before you have corrected the misinformation (Optimus on Quadro) pointed out in the last? Further, you have not addressed the very real concerns of your bias in these reviews as of yet. Reply
  • Maraque - Tuesday, December 18, 2012 - link

    Yes, why? Personally, for me, his workstation reviews have lost a lot of credibility after his last farce of a review.
    "Sir, you need to step away from the workstations, please, until you have been deemed not a threat."
    Reply
  • Dustin Sklavos - Tuesday, December 18, 2012 - link

    I didn't like the Precision M6700's design. I felt like the EliteBook 8760w I had reviewed was a better built workstation. I still do.

    I can recognize that I was needlessly harsh about the M6700, though, and indeed folded information and feedback into this review.

    You can accept progress and try to see a concerted effort to move forward, or you can continue harping. It's up to you.
    Reply
  • theeldest - Tuesday, December 18, 2012 - link

    This review was better than the last but I still take issue with two points:

    1. Aesthetics. It's OK to comment on it but you make it sound as if others should consider your opinion on this issue when purchasing. As you said above, you thought the 8760w was better built and that's what we need to hear. Quality of materials and build. But try to keep in mind that other people don't have the same appreciation for HPs design as you.

    2. "Standard" keyboards. Why do you consider HPs the more 'standard' layout? The layout on the Dell is the same as they've been using in the Latitudes and Precisions since 2001. Literally more than 10 years.

    HP on the other hand has switched during the EliteBook's short life. Interestingly, the first and second generation used the SAME keyboard layout as Dell. So I'd argue (and have evidence to support) that the current HPs are using a NON-standard layout.

    This is why we have issue with these reviews. You're making sweeping statements that aren't backed up by fact and you're using these to support your position.

    As soon as you do this, you lose credibility. This review was better than the last, but you've still got room for growth.
    Reply
  • CobaltFire - Tuesday, December 18, 2012 - link

    Have you addressed the lack of basic technical research regarding the Optimus system? This is critical in any informed discussion of these laptops.

    Optimus with an 8 bit screen makes for great battery life, but you do not get that wonderful IPS screen. Note that HP does not bother even giving you this choice due to their design.

    If you want IPS, FirePro, or HP you lose ~60% runtime. This would have taken almost no research to find out, and nowhere in any publications I have seen does it state that Optimus does not work with Quadro.

    This site has always seemed to be about having accurate information, even if the reviews were a little behind. Your reviews, and your unwillingness to acknowledge the errors in a timely manner (as Anand has done many times) are not in keeping with this sites reputation.

    This is a long time readers opinion. I do not typically comment because so many others do such a good job of covering what I may be interested in.
    Reply
  • ggathagan - Tuesday, December 18, 2012 - link

    What exactly are you asking for with regards to Optimus?
    From your statement, I suspect that you are already aware of the fact that Optimus is not supported on Quadro cards, just as it's not supported on desktop systems.
    What else is there, then, to say about the matter?

    The article clearly states that the use of the 10-bit panel precludes the use of Optimus.

    Lastly, since a Quadro card was not used in this laptop, I don't understand how the lack of Optimus support for Quadro is germane to this review.
    Reply
  • Goodstorybro - Tuesday, December 18, 2012 - link

    Optimus does work with Quadro cards - as demonstrated with Dells M4700 and W530 Thinkpads.

    Personally, I think the hit on battery with using an IPS panel is too much. Most users will have an larger external monitor as their primary display to do real work, while the extended battery life will be much more useful on the road.
    Reply
  • solipsism - Tuesday, December 18, 2012 - link

    I don't quite get why these higher end notebooks aren't compared to MBPs running Windows. Are they not an option one might make if looking for a $1200 or higher notebook? Reply
  • bobdole1997 - Tuesday, December 18, 2012 - link

    From the review, the MBP does not have a workstation-class GPU. So it was not compared. Reply
  • solipsism - Tuesday, December 18, 2012 - link

    I did not see that mentioned. Thank you. Reply

Log in

Don't have an account? Sign up now